About Us

The University of the Philippines (UP) was founded on 18 June 1908 through the First Philippine Legislature Act No. 1870, otherwise known as the University Charter. UP has since undergone considerable growth and to date; UP is composed of eight constituent universities – one of which is UP Mindanao.

UP Mindanao was created when President Fidel V. Ramos signed the Republic Act 7889 on 20 February 1995. Through the following years, the School of Management, College of Science and Mathematics, and College of Humanities and Social Sciences were also created. 

Being one of the constituent units of the University of the Philippines, UP Mindanao aims to provide equitable access to quality UP education to Mindanaoans. Currently, UP Mindanao offers undergraduate programs in the field of humanities and social sciences, science and mathematics, and management. Courses offered include Anthropology, Architecture, Communication and Media Arts, English, Applied Mathematics, Biology, Computer Science, Food Technology, and Agribusiness Economics. It also offers graduate programs such as Management, Food Science, Urban and Regional Planning, and Sports Science. Looking forward, the University aims to offer more programs focused on developing and supporting Mindanao’s sport, health, technological, and bio-cultural diversity initiatives. Through these, the University aims to be an internationally competitive graduate, research, and public service university in Mindanao primed to contribute to Philippine development.


An internationally competitive graduate, research, and public service university in Mindanao, leading in the study of arts, cultures, and sustainable biosystems.


The University of the Philippines Mindanao provides distinctive interdisciplinary education, research & development, and public engagement that are responsive and relevant to the diverse sectors in Mindanao and sustains Mindanao heritage and biodiversity through innovative systems and technologies.